gumshoereview Logo with link to Main Page  
News Items- 05/2010  Next Month / Last Month
If you wish your news item to appear in our column, send your announcement to news (at)

With a few exceptions, news items and announcements will be posted if they are sent to us.
With fewer exceptions, announcements not sent to us ... don't.

Winners of the Agatha Award Announced at Malice Domestic 22. by Malice Domestic 22 (Malice Domestic 01 May 2010 / ) - Agatha Awards are named in Honor of Agatha Christie. This years awards are for materials first published in the United States by a living author during the calendar year 2009 (January 1-December 31), either in hardcover, as a paperback original, or e-published by an e-publishing firm. The Agatha Awards honor the "traditional mystery." That is to say, books best typified by the works of Agatha Christie as well as others. For our purposes, the genre is loosely defined as mysteries that: contain no explicit sex and contain no excessive gore or gratuitous violence. This years winners are:

    Best Novel: A Brutal Telling by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)
    Best first novel: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Delacorte Press)
    Best Non-fiction: Dame Agatha's Shorts by Elena Santangelo (Bella Rosa Books)
    Best YA: The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)
    Best short: “On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan, Quarry (Level Best Books)
Congratulations winners!

Return to Index

© 2002-Gumshoe

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

Our Other Pubs:

Do You SFRevu? Thousands of Intelligent Beings Do Every Month

Gumshoe Review - a literary investigation.

© 2002-Gumshoe