gumshoereview Logo with link to Main Page  
Show Me the Gold by Carolyn Mulford
Review by Mel Jacob
Five Star Hardcover  ISBN/ITEM#: 9781432829902
Date: 17 December 2014

Links: Author's Website / V. Suit's review / Show Official Info /

Carolyn Mulford's Show Me the Gold continues the adventures of ex-covert CIA operative and financial expert, Phoenix Smith. She and a close friend, Connie Diamante aid Acting Sheriff Annalynn Keyser. While Annalynn and Phoenix are investigating desecration of local gravestones, a police call for help interrupts them. They race to the aid of Sheriff Tiny Towson to catch bank bandits holed up in the area.

The robbers robbed a bank for money and Krugerrands. In the stakeout, Phoenix kills one robber and seriously wounds the son of the dead man. When they approach the farmhouse hideout, Achilles, Phoenix's dog, won't let her near. While Achilles failed drug sniffing, he excels at detecting explosives. The house explodes, but Achilles has saved Phoenix and the police.

Later, someone shoots at Phoenix when she meets Connie for dinner. No trace of the shooter is found. She wonders if Roscoe Cantree, the leader of the robbers, who escaped, is trying to frighten her. Later, the FBI traces several raids on convenience stores in different locations to Roscoe. Bills from the robbery are passed in several casinos.

The FBI suspect both Annalynn and Phoenix of finding the gold coins because of their presence at the hideout and Phoenix's knowledge of European finance would give her the knowledge to dispose of them. Both proclaim their innocence.

At Connie's request, Phoenix investigates a suspected case of elder abuse and does her best to keep the elderly woman safe from her son-in-law. She also urges the local newspaper editor to do a series on elder abuse. The son-in-law is a friend of Roscoe.

In addition to a killer on the loose, Phoenix struggles with her ex-husband, her love life, and keeping Annalynn safe. Her enemies underrate her. Few know her true history as a covert agent in Europe. However, she is still recovering from an attack in Istanbul that almost killed her, but she refuses to let it hamper her activities.

Language is mild and no sex as such appears in the mystery. Prior titles in the series are Show Me The Murder and Show Me the Deadly Deer. Readers will be looking forward to next installment on Phoenix, Annalynn, Connie, and, of course, Achilles.

Return to Index

We're interested in your feedback. Just fill out the form below and we'll add your comments as soon as we can look them over. Due to the number of SPAM containing links, any comments containing links will be filtered out by our system. Please do not include links in your message.

© 2002-2018Gumshoe

advertising index / info
Our advertisers make Gumshoe possible, and your consideration is appreciated.

  © 2002-2018Gumshoe